July232014
Have you checked out our autographed copies shelf lately?

Have you checked out our autographed copies shelf lately?

11AM
Aria and Dan barely knew one another. They only date for a month before Dan proposes. He knows in his heart that Aria is stronger than she gives herself credit for. Together, they face the challenges of being newlyweds, his duties as a SEAL, and her learning her way to function without Dan’s help. They start their new life with death, family dysfunction, and a stalker. Can they survive? Anne Elizabeth portrays eloquently what life is like for a military spouse, where your partner is gone 95% of the time, and how hard it is to embody shared moments and build a bond that is unbreakable. Brilliant writing and, for me, a connection to the characters as I currently walk the path of a military wife.
*****
-Karen B.

Aria and Dan barely knew one another. They only date for a month before Dan proposes. He knows in his heart that Aria is stronger than she gives herself credit for. Together, they face the challenges of being newlyweds, his duties as a SEAL, and her learning her way to function without Dan’s help. They start their new life with death, family dysfunction, and a stalker. Can they survive? Anne Elizabeth portrays eloquently what life is like for a military spouse, where your partner is gone 95% of the time, and how hard it is to embody shared moments and build a bond that is unbreakable. Brilliant writing and, for me, a connection to the characters as I currently walk the path of a military wife.

*****

-Karen B.

July222014

New Release Day

This week, some of the books now available for you to buy are:

  • Strange and Ever After by Susan Dennard: Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare’s The Infernal Devices series, this is the epic conclusion to Susan Dennard’s trilogy that started with Something Strange and Deadly and continued with A Darkness Strange and Lovely. With supernatural forces, epic romance, and a mysterious Egyptian city, Eleanor and her team are set for an adventure they will never forget. It has been a tumultuous time for Eleanor Fitt since life as she knew it in Philadelphia came abruptly to an end. While the Spirit-Hunters—Joseph, Jie, and Daniel—have helped her survive her brother’s violent death and an invasion of Hungry Dead, Eleanor has lost just about everything. And now, Jie is missing—taken by the evil necromancer Marcus. Eleanor is determined not only to get her back but to finally end this nightmare. But to do so, she must navigate the hot desert streets of nineteenth-century Egypt amid the rising Dead, her unresolved feelings for Daniel, and her volatile relationships with Joseph and Oliver, her demon. And it won’t be easy. Because Allison, her friend from Philadelphia, has tagged along, becoming strangely entangled in Eleanor’s mission. It will take all of Eleanor’s powers of black magic, and all of Daniel’s and Joseph’s trust, to succeed. But there will be a price. People will have to suffer the consequences of what Marcus has done, and what Eleanor, Oliver, and the Spirit-Hunters will do to stop all this deadly chaos.
  • One Past Midnight by Jessica Shirvington: Sabine isn’t like anyone else. For as long as she can remember, she’s had two lives. Every twenty-four hours she ‘Shifts’, living each day twice. In one life, Sabine has everything: popular friends, expensive clothes, perfect grades, and the guy everyone wants. In the other, Sabine’s family struggles with finances, and she and her friends are considered rebels. But then she meets Ethan. He’s gorgeous, challenging, and he makes her feel like no one ever has before. All Sabine really wants is the chance to live one life. When it seems like this might finally be possible, Sabine begins a series of dangerous experiments to achieve her goal. But is she willing to risk everything—including the one person who might actually believe her?
  • Prototype by MD Waters: Emma looks forward to the day when she can let go of her past—both of them. After more than a year on the run, with clues to her parents’ whereabouts within her grasp, she may finally find a place to settle down. Start a new life. Maybe even create new memories with a new family. But the past rises to haunt her and to make sure there’s nowhere on the planet she can hide. Declan Burke wants his wife back, and with a little manipulation and a lot of reward money, he’s got the entire world on his side. Except for the one man she dreads confronting the most: Noah Tucker. Emma returns to face what she’s done but finds that the past isn’t the problem. It’s the present—and the future it represents. Noah has moved on and another woman is raising their daughter. In the shocking conclusion to M.D. Waters’s spectacular debut, Emma battles for her life and her freedom, tearing down walls and ripping off masks to reveal the truth. She’s decided to play their game and prove she isn’t the woman they thought she was. Even if it means she winds up dead. Or worse, reborn. 
  • Remains of Innocence by JA Jance: Sheriff Joanna Brady must solve two perplexing cases that hit close to home in New York Times bestselling author J. A. Jance’s thrilling tale of suspense that brings to life Arizona’s Cochise County and the desert Southwest in all its beauty, mystery, and danger. An old woman, both a hermit and a hoarder, is dying in Great Barrington, Massachusetts. While cleaning out her dilapidated house, her estranged daughter, Liza Machett, discovers a fortune in hundred-dollar bills hidden in the tall stacks of books and magazines that crowd every corner. After their father ran off with another woman, Liza and her older stepbrother grew up in this house, surviving poverty, squalor, and a mentally unstable mother. So where did all the cash come from? For Liza, a waitress at a small local diner, the money seems like a blessing—until an elderly man she’s never met appears at her mother’s funeral, warning that she’s in danger. Suddenly, Liza’s quiet life is turned upside down. The house is torched, her apartment is broken into, and her elderly landlady is murdered. Someone very dangerous is looking for her and won’t stop until she’s found. Terrified, Liza sets off on a perilous cross-country journey that will lead her to Cochise County, Arizona, where Sheriff Joanna Brady is embroiled in a personal mystery of her own. Junior Dowdle, a developmentally disabled man in his sixties, is found dead at the bottom of a hole in a limestone cavern near Bisbee. Inside the cave, the police also discover a badly injured kitten that is barely alive, as well as the remains of other mutilated pets. Joanna knows Junior’s foster parents well, and she considered him a family friend. Though he’d always been kind and sweet, with the onset of dementia, he had begun having violent episodes. Could he have hurt those animals? Was his death an accident? Or is he a victim as well? Joanna and her modest staff have their hands full investigating Junior’s death and the animal abuse they uncovered. Then another case rocks the department—a shocking murder involving Liza and the money. Her department stretched to the limit, the undaunted sheriff must solve these two disturbing cases fast, before more innocent blood can be shed.
July212014
Book clubs this week: Young Adult with @joypreble and Middle Reader with D. Scozzari!

Book clubs this week: Young Adult with @joypreble and Middle Reader with D. Scozzari!

2PM
I cannot even begin to describe to you the amazingness that is the essay “Love” without just copying the whole thing here, which I’m pretty sure is plagiarism. It’s plants as metaphors for love, and it’s incredible, and you have to read it to understand it’s awesomeness, and I need you to so we can discuss it, okay?

I cannot even begin to describe to you the amazingness that is the essay “Love” without just copying the whole thing here, which I’m pretty sure is plagiarism. It’s plants as metaphors for love, and it’s incredible, and you have to read it to understand it’s awesomeness, and I need you to so we can discuss it, okay?

1PM
Wow! What a great book! After reading bits and pieces about Tabby Allen in book 4, Motorcycle Man, we learn that young Tabby has grown up and followed her dreams down a rocky road, and we wait to see if she snags her true love, “Shy” Park Cage- a member of her dad’s motorcycle club, Chaos. There’s sizzle, romance, action, and adventure. Did I mention sizzle? Another super read from Kristen Ashley!
-Karen B.

Wow! What a great book! After reading bits and pieces about Tabby Allen in book 4, Motorcycle Man, we learn that young Tabby has grown up and followed her dreams down a rocky road, and we wait to see if she snags her true love, “Shy” Park Cage- a member of her dad’s motorcycle club, Chaos. There’s sizzle, romance, action, and adventure. Did I mention sizzle? Another super read from Kristen Ashley!

-Karen B.

July192014
In store now: Katie Lea Yates! She’s the author of the phenomenal YA fantasy, #TheProvider.

In store now: Katie Lea Yates! She’s the author of the phenomenal YA fantasy, #TheProvider.

6PM
Katie Lea Yates!

Katie Lea Yates!

2PM
Today at 4 pm, help us welcome Katie Lea Yates!

Today at 4 pm, help us welcome Katie Lea Yates!

July182014
"Trees Dream of Being Trees" is short, and there isn’t much to say about it, but it was my favorite of the essays, I think. If you’ve ever been at a place where you’re pretty sure you’re no good at being you and perhaps you should just be someone else, this one will touch you deeply.

"Trees Dream of Being Trees" is short, and there isn’t much to say about it, but it was my favorite of the essays, I think. If you’ve ever been at a place where you’re pretty sure you’re no good at being you and perhaps you should just be someone else, this one will touch you deeply.

← Older entries Page 1 of 148